Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines credentials when prompted. Learn more on our off campus access guide.
Why Articles?
The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a "peer-review" process. In other words, the articles are checked by academics and other experts. The information is therefore reliable. As well as containing scholarly information, journal articles can include reports and/or reviews of current research and topic-specific information.
Use scholarly journals when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research. Scholarly journals take less time to publish than books, but the peer-review process can be lengthy.
Popular articles found in magazines are often written by journalist or professional writers for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations for sources. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
Core Electronic Resources
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability. - Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text contains indexing and abstracts for scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and much more. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library provides access to full text journals, special technical publications, standards, manuals, data series, and terminology that covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. - ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It provides access to full-text papers from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied. - Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. - OMICS Publications This link opens in a new window
OMICS Publications database has 700+ online open access scholarly journals in all aspects of science, engineering, management, and technology journals. - OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding. - SAE Technical Papers This link opens in a new window
Supporting the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle sectors, the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Technical Papers provide professionals and students with the latest advances in mobility research. - DieselNet This link opens in a new window
DieselNet is an independent online information service covering technical and business information on diesel engines, emissions, fuels, and other technologies required by the clean and efficient diesel engines of the future. With a technical focus, DieselNet is addressed to engineers, researchers and students working with diesel engines, as well as to diesel engine users who deal with emission problems. - AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more ebooks.
