Search Google Images
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines credentials when prompted. Learn more on our off campus access guide.
Find Images
Get tips for finding and using images for research and scholarship. Image sources on this site are grouped by source: Colorado School of Mines, beyond CSM; and then by subject and type.
When you use an image you are responsible for learning the exact restrictions and permissions of that specific image.
Related Guides:
Image Credit: M and moon By Colorado School of Mines
Our Images
- Image Database - Mines Library Special Collections, Archives This link opens in a new window
The Image Database contains digital versions of photographs, slides, stereo pairs, post cards, and other printed materials from our Library special collections and others.
- Mines Flickr PhotostreamGeneral campus photos can be downloaded from the Mines Flickr photostream. To download a photo, click on the individual photo and three dots will appear in the lower right. Select "view all sizes" and you will have the option to download in various sizes.
- CSM Geology Museum on FlickrPhotos of the mineral collection, exhibits, activities, staff and volunteers of the Colorado School of Mines Geology Museum and the Friends of the Museum.
- CSM Alumni and Foundation on FlickrPhotos of Alumni and Foundation events and activities, such as: Homecoming, M-climb, and E-Days.
- CECS at Mines on FlickrPhotos from the College of Engineering and Computational Sciences.
- CASE at CSM on FlickrPhotos from the College of Applied Science and Engineering.
- Mines CERSE on FlickrPhotos from the College of Earth Resource Sciences and Engineering.
Groups of Photographs Within the Image Database
Search Tips: Image Database
Find groups of images? Use "Search by Subject" in the Advanced Search tab to find images on the same subject. For example:
Too many results? Some keywords (colorado, mining, etc.) are very common. Try to use unique keywords, or use "Search by Subject" or other Advanced Search features to narrow your results.
Can't find images by date? The dates of many images are uncertain. We've assigned an approximate date where possible. If you are searching or sorting images by date, you may find images listed by decade, for example "195u" for the 1950s.
Looking for Illustrated Books?
Search the Library Catalog before you browse the book stacks. An illustrated book will have at least one of the following terms in the Details field: ill. (for "illustrated"), maps, pl. (plates), col. (color), plans
Example Image Citation
New York World Telegram. 1943. Work progresses on Boulder Dam. Photograph. Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/95504791/. Accessed May 2014.
Terms of Use
- Image Database - Mines Library Special Collections, Archives This link opens in a new windowThe Image Database is available to all users. Images in the Database can be used for non-profit personal, scholarly or research purposes under the fair use provisions of copyright law.