Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, find what you want, and log in with your Mines credentials.
Having trouble? Learn more on our off campus access guide.
Why Articles?
The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a "peer-review" process. In other words, the articles are checked by academics and other experts. The information is therefore reliable. As well as containing scholarly information, journal articles can include reports and/or reviews of current research and topic-specific information.
Use scholarly journals when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research. Scholarly journals take less time to publish than books, but the peer-review process can be lengthy.
Popular articles found in magazines are often written by journalist or professional writers for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations for sources. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
Related Guide: Find Articles
Core Electronic Resources
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection provides full-text coverage for aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.
- Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text contains indexing and abstracts for scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and much more. - ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library provides access to full text journals, special technical publications, standards, manuals, data series, and terminology that covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library features content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), containing current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science with select content back to 1872. Select access to standards.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
- Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. - Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Critically evaluate and compare journals in the sciences and social sciences using citation data from scholarly and technical journals. Use JCR to find the most frequently cited journals, and measure research influence through impact factor, aggregate impact factor, the aggregate immediacy index, aggregated cited half-life, and the number of articles in each category. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. - Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting and full-text of library and information science articles. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, equipment, computer systems, personnel administration, preservation, and more. - Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results.
Featured eJournals
Below are a few selected journals related to STEM Education.