Library Guides: HASS 498 -- Science on Trial: Home

In This Guide

This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond.

Related Guides:

Image by Maria from Pixabay

Core Electronic Resources

These sources can help you get started on your research:

Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
Browse our virtual discovery collections:
Mines Authors
Diversity Collection
Sustainability Collection
Course Readings Collection
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing of all government publications with full text for Congressional Hearings 1824 to present. Plus bill tracking and legislative histories, member profiles, research, and CIS index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Note: To make sure links to full-text resources offered by Mines are included in your results, click on the Settings button in the right-hand corner, then on Library Links in the left-hand column. Type in or click on Colorado School of Mines and select Save.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
Databases available via HeinOnline:
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
History of International Law
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Law Academy Project
Law Journal Library
Law Library of Congress Reports
Legal Classics
LGBTQ+ Rights
Military and Government
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
National Survey of State Laws
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability.
Cross Searches the following databases:
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Biological Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Materials Science & Engineering Database; Military Database
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.