Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
You will complete a variety of assignments while taking Nature and Human Values, including research papers. This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
Image Credit: Teeside Offshore Wind Farm by Paul. Used under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Get Started with Research
These sources can help you get started on your research:
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains more than 380 core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, and various full-text resources organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 980,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.
Engineering Case Studies Online
The analysis of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Over 80 cases are currently covered in the system, including the Chernobyl disaster, the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster, the Tacoma Narrows Bridge collapse, and many more.
Environmental Issues Online
This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways.
Environmental Studies in Video
500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as: The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Their website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
Teaching & Learning Librarian