Map & GIS Librarian and Academic Outreach Coordinator
In This Guide
You will complete a variety of assignments while taking the IDEAS course, including research papers. This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond.
This Guide Contains:
- Find Articles - Search for articles online and in print
- Find Books -Find print and eBooks
- Find Web Sites - Find professional organizations and other quality web resources
- Evaluating Sources - Learn how to evaluate books, articles and web sources
- Citing Sources - Information on citation formats, citation tools and more.
Related Guides:
- Engineering Grand Challenges
- Green & Sustainable Engineering
- Humanitarian Engineering
- Hydrology and Water Resources
Image Credit: cyberspace by jstll. Used under CC BY-NC 2.0.
Core Electronic Resources
These sources can help you get started on your research:
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 880,000 digitized pages, representing over 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923. - Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection provides access to full-text local, regional, national, and international news sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web-only, and blogs. - Black Life in America : Series 3 (1976-present) This link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. The content in this database is sourced from American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications from 1976-present.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability. - Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text contains indexing and abstracts for scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and much more.
