Company Records
- EDGARSEC database on filings for public companies
- Mining & Earth Resources Company ReportsA0145, Russell L. & Lyn Wood Mining History Archive. Annual reports, 10-Ks and other company documents.
- Colorado Historic Mine Reports, 1900-1980Annual Operator Reports and Annual Inspector Information Reports filed with the Colorado Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- Mine Reports CollectionReports by engineers and geologists on mine properties. Formats can include maps, correspondence, prospectus and other documents.
- Goldsheet Mining DirectoryCovers a range of mining news and commodity information. "Obsolete Shares" points to websites that can help you determine the value of stock certificates.
- Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
Fisher Manual of Obsolete and Worthless Securities
Call Number: HG 4055 .R6, R&LW Mining History Archive; also MicroformsPublication Date: 1970Lists values and discontinued stocks.
Mines HandbookCall Number: TN13 .M65, R&LW Mining History ArchiveSucceeding the Copper Handbook; directory of mining companies in the early 1900s.
Incorporations, Colorado:
- 1861-1875 -- Colorado State Archives
- 1876-1977 -- Public Records Archives, State of Colorado. There may be a fee for requests.
- 1977-1990 -- Corporation Division, Secretary of the State of Colorado.
- 1990-present -- Securities Division, State of Colorado
Mining Claims
- US BLM General Land Office RecordsProvides records on the initial transfer of federal Public Lands to private hands. The "Surveys" and "LSR" (Land Status Records) categories allow you to search by document/survey type. The "Reference Center" gives you tips and definitions for this site.
- Land and Mineral Legacy Rehost 2000 SystemUS BLM. Reports on BLM land and mineral use authorizations.
County (varies) assessors' offices; archives for historical county mining claim documentations.
Have a Stock Certificate?
Stock certificates from early mining companies (1800s-1910s) are often without value, but you never know.
Monetary value as stocks? Check:
- Nevada Mining Stocks & ClaimsGuide on finding the value of stocks; applicable for other US states.
- Fisher Manuals of Valuable and Worthless SecuritiesCall Number: Mining History Archive; also Microforms (Floor 1) HG4055 .R6Publication Date: 1970
Value as collectibles, historical artifacts?
Is the mine significant? Does the stock certificate include signatures of famous people? Is it rare? You can do some historical research using the resources listed here; and check out websites such as Scripophily for collectors' pricing.
Personal value ("for fun")?
Mining company stock certificates are a part of mining's history. They can include beautiful graphics, famous mine names, far locations. Collect and enjoy.