Mines Library Catalog Search
To start, you may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for research articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Articles.
Please note: not all research articles which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog. Only use the catalog for a broad search to get started and use specialized databases such as the Web of Science, Google Scholar, or Scitation (AIP journals and more) to run more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.
Google Scholar
Core Electronic Databases for Health and Medical Information
- MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the most recent COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic. Full-text content in the database is available either directly from ProQuest or via links to publisher sites. 2020-current.
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics for researchers and health care professionals. - Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. A comprehensive consumer health resource that provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, CHC is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Find Journals via BrowZine
- BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a journal and article interface of open access content as well as subscriptions of the Arthur Lakes Library. Browse subject areas arranged like a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across disciplines.
Journal Title Search
If you know the title of the journal you want to browse, you could search for the journal title in the catalog. For example, if you do a search on The Lancet, the first item to come up will be the catalog record for the journal. You can then view the table of contents for the journal.