Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course Readings

Instructions for faculty and staff for adding and managing Course Readings in Canvas

Ways to Add Items

Add via the Library Search - searches the Mines Library Catalog and uses the Catalog's holdings and links

  • Items you know the library owns, electronic or physical

Add/Upload via Blank Form - upload files or enter citation manually

  • Upload items you have created and to which you own the copyright
  • Add citation information only for materials you'd like students to purchase, like course texts
  • Upload legal copies you have acquired to use as fair use claim

Add via Collection

  • Your Collection consists of materials you have saved from a Mines Library Catalog search
  • Your Collection can also represent items from past Course Readings lists that you have copied to your Collection

Add via File

  • Upload items you have created and to which you own the copyright
  • Upload legal copies you have acquired to use as fair use claim

Add via Zotero

  • Add from your own Zotero collection

Add via the Cite It! Bookmarklet

  • Install a bookmarklet to add citations while you browse the Web, including from library databases, academic publishing sites, Amazon, YouTube, TED, and many others 

Add Items Button

In your Course Readings list, click on the plus button to access the screen where you can search the Library Catalog, add a citation manually, add from your Collection (materials from previous saved Library Catalog searches and/or materials you copied from existing Course Readings lists(s)), upload a file, or add from your own Zotero collection.