Systems Discovery Librarian
Related Guides
-
Multimedia Production Studio ("The Studio")
by Matt Simpson Last Updated Feb 10, 2025 367 views this year
Scholarly Sources
Get started with your course research in these broad, multi-disciplinary resources.
- Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them for future generations. You can search and access fully viewable materials in HathiTrust and download materials where there are no third-party restrictions or are in the public domain.
Groves Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 3rd ed. / 1927
This is a standard music history reference found in HaithiTrust. This link goes to the third edition with the 6 volumes listed (some available more than once). While there are much newer editions, this older edition can be useful for basic information on musicians, places, and types of music (except for 20th/21st century music and musicians and perhaps some Romantic era music and musicians). This is the latest issue where open access is available for all 6 volumes. As with most dictionaries, this is arranged alphabetically (see below).
* v. 1 -- A-C
* v.2 -- D-J
* v.3 -- K-O
* v.4 -- P-Sonatina
* v.5 -- Song-Z
* v.6 -- American Supplement
- Prospector This link opens in a new window
Prospector is a unified catalog of academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you have access to millions of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, streaming videos, and other materials held in these libraries. With a single search, you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
Finding Good Web Resources
Use these good search habits to find high quality, authoritative sources on the internet:
1) Limit your Google Search by domain -- add site:. before a domain, such as .gov or .edu.
2) Use Google Scholar, instead of the regular Google search box to find for scholarly articles
3) Let the Google Scholar citation help you find related articles, create a citation or get the full text from the library
Links to Authoritative Sources
These websites contain great information for your project
- AllMusicBasic information and recordings of a wide variety of musical artists and periods.
- MusicBrainzCommunity-driven open source encyclopedia of music information.
Colorado Music Libraries
Since Colorado School of Mines Library does not subscribe to many of the music databases that may be helpful for this class, the libraries at CU Boulder and DU both have great music collections.
- Howard B. Waltz Music LibraryMusic library at CU Boulder.
- Especially useful if you plan to visit the Waltz Music Library is their Music: Getting Started Guide. An essential database is the Oxford Music Online (particularly the Grove Music Online database) and the Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library from Alexander Street.
- Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Music LibraryMusic library at University of Denver
- Starting point to University of Denver's music collection.