Mines Library Catalog Search
You may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for print and electronic books on your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Books.
If Our copy is checked out, or if you are not finding what you are looking for, you can broaden your search to include dozens of academic and public libraries in Colorado and Wyoming by searching the Prospector Catalog.
Please note: not all electronic books which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog.
Reference Books
The Astronomy Encyclopedia by ISBN: 0195218337Publication Date: 2002-11-21The universe beyond our own has been an object of scientific inquiry and a preoccupation of avid stargazers from antiquity up to the present day, and this preoccupation has evolved into a complex field in which mysteries are unlocked and discoveries are made on a constant basis. The AstronomyEncyclopedia covers the full width and breadth of the discipline and includes the latest and most important advances.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics by ISBN: 9780333750889Publication Date: 2001-01-01A collaboration between the Institute of Physics Publishing and Macmillan Reference Ltd, this work presents an extensive and comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics. It has 800 contributors, over 2500 entries, and it is extensively cross-referenced.
Cambridge Dictionary of Astronomy by ISBN: 0521800455Publication Date: 2001-02-05Held up by the heliopause? Floored by the flatness problem? Intimidated by MACHOs? With this dictionary there is no need to be defeated by such astronomical jargon. These terms, along with almost 3,200 more words, names and abbreviations encountered in amateur and professional astronomy, are explained clearly and concisely in a style that is authoritative but accessible.
Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy by ISBN: 0849328918Publication Date: 2001-05-18The Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy provides a lexicon of terminology covering fields such as astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, relativity, geophysics, meteorology, Newtonian physics, and oceanography.
Atlases
Uranometria 2000.0 by ISBN: 9780943396972Publication Date: 2012-08-01Uranometria 2000.0 : deep sky atlas : all sky edition, with stars to visual 9.75 magnitude and 30,000 non-stellar objects. All sky edition.- Uranometria 2000.0 : deep sky field guide by ISBN: 9781942675105Publication Date: 2018"The purpose of the DSFG is to provide essential catalog data for each of the more than 30.000 nonstellar objects plotted on the 220 Uranometria 2000.0 deep sky atlas charts."
Sky Atlas 2000. 0 by ISBN: 9780933346871Publication Date: 2007-05-01With a generous scale of 8.2 millimeters per degree, the deluxe version of this popular atlas has plenty of room for a life's worth of pencil markings. Twenty-six fold-out charts show 81,312 stars in black (magnitude 8.5 or brighter) as well as 2,700 color-coded deep-sky objects.
The Observer's Sky Atlas by ISBN: 9780387485379Publication Date: 2007-09-05This Includes a short introduction to observing, a thorough description of the star charts and tables, a glossary and much more - Perfect for both the beginner and seasoned observer - Fully revised edition of a best-selling and highly-praised sky atlas.
The Cambridge Star Atlas by ISBN: 0521800846Publication Date: 2001-03-08The Cambridge Star Atlas covers the entire sky, both northern and southern latitudes, in an attractive format that is suitable for beginners and experienced astronomical observers. There is a series of monthly sky charts, followed by an atlas of the whole sky, arranged in 20 overlapping full colour charts. Each chart shows stars down to magnitude 6.5, together with about 900 non-stellar objects, such as clusters and galaxies, which can be seen with binoculars or a small telescope.
The Hatfield Lunar Atlas: Digitally Re-Mastered EditionISBN: 1283934159Publication Date: 2012-01-01The new, digitally re-mastered edition vastly improves the clarity and definition of the original photographs - significantly beyond the resolution limits of the photographic grains present in earlier atlas versions - while preserving the layout and style of the original publications.
Hatfield Photographic Lunar Atlas by ISBN: 9781852330187Publication Date: 1999-03-19This version of the lunar atlas updates some of the maps, names and technical data, but uses Commander Henry Hatfield's original photographic plates, taken with a purpose-built 30cm reflector. The atlas is divided into 16 sections, each of which is made up of five or more photographic plates together with a map.
Astronomy of the Milky Way: The Observer's Guide to the Northern Sky by ISBN: 9783319490816Publication Date: 2017-05-22This is the first of a two-volume set that deal with the entire Milky Way. This first volume looks at what can be seen predominantly from the Northern Skies. In addition to the descriptive text, there are many star charts and maps, as well as the latest up-to-date images made by observatories around the world and in space, as well as images taken by amateur astronomers.
The Photographic Atlas of the Stars by ISBN: 0750303786Publication Date: 1996-01-01The author has captured the entire night sky from locations throughout the northern and southern hemispheres in 50 photographs, each taken using a wide-angle lens. The colour plates are presented here to high standards of reproduction and each plate is accompanied by a map of the identical area which identifies the main stars of the constituent constellations, as well as other interesting astronomical objects.
The Constellation Observing Atlas by ISBN: 9781461476481Publication Date: 2013-08-13Designed for anyone who wishes to learn the constellations or observe the best and brightest deep sky objects and double stars, this book contains an alphabetical list of constellations complete with star maps, historical background, and highlights of deep sky objects. Each entry contains position and physical information on enough stars to support astronomers in star-hopping, swinging the telescope from star to star to star to arrive at a faint target.
Other Books
Information Handling in Astronomy by ISBN: 9780792364948Publication Date: 2000-10-31"The book starts with a description of the fundamental mission of the International Astronomical Union by its current General Secretary, Johannes Andersen. Then Stephen P. Maran shares his extensive experience with the news media as press officer for the American Astronomical Society, followed by Claus Madsen and Richard M. West detailing the impressive public outreach policies at the European Southern Observatory." There are 17 chapters that cover many aspects of information use in the field of astronomy.
Information Handling in Astronomy - Historical Vistas by ISBN: 9048162459Publication Date: 2010-12-25This book offers a unique review of how astronomical information handling (in the broad sense) evolved in the course of the 20th century, and especially during its second half. It will be very useful for researchers, teachers, editors, publishers, librarians, computer scientists, sociologists of science, research planners and strategists, project managers, public-relations officers, plus those in charge of astronomy-related organizations, as well as by students aiming at a career in astronomy or related space science.
Core Electronic Book Packages
- SpringerLink Books - Physics
Astronomy is considered to be a subset of physics.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process, and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines. Provides interactive content including equations, graphs, and tables. It has technical reference resources from ebooks and standards as well as publishers including AIChE/CCPS, NACE, and more.
Not finding what you need? - Search broader
- Prospector This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Prospector is a unified catalog of academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you have access to millions of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, streaming videos, and other materials held in these libraries. With a single search, you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
Search across catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries across the world using Worldcat.org. If you find a book in Worldcat that we do not have at Mines Library, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.
Requesting Books Through ILL
If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection, we can get it for you!
Just request it though Interlibrary Loan.
Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.