Petroleum Engineering

These are the critical resources for Petroleum Engineering:

• Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines -- Search the Library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
• OnePetro -- An online library by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. Contains contributions from 18 publishing partners and providing access to over 160,000 items.
• AAPG Datapages -- Journal articles from and associated with the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
• AAPG Books -- Books from and associated with the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
• SEG Library -- Books and articles from and associated with the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
• U.S. Energy Information Agency (EIA) -- Up-to-date statistics.  Historic information.  Graphs and charts.
• International Energy Agency (IEA) -- Articles, statistics, reports.
• Knovel -- Petroleum-related e-handbooks.
• Full text Oil, Gas, and Energy online journals available through the Mines Library
• Full text Petroleum Engineering online journals available through the Mines Library

• GeoRef -- Includes exploration, basin analysis, hydrocarbon geosciences.
• Engineering Village, including Compendex & INSPEC -- Includes petroleum engineering.
• SciFinder -- Includes petroleum chemistry.  First-time users register in SciFinder.
• Science Direct -- Covers a wide range of disciplines in the sciences.
• SciTech Premium Collection -- Covers a wide range of sciences, engineering, and health-related topics.
• Web of Science -- Covers applied science & technology.  Excellent for searching across disciplines or for doing cited reference searches.
• PetroWiki (SPE) -- Created from the 7 volume Petroleum Engineering Handbook (PEH) published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). 
• U.S. Department of Energy, Energy.gov -- Oil information
• U.S. Department of Energy, Energy.gov -- Fossil fuels
• U.S. Energy Information Administration -- Petroleum & other liquids
• U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) -- comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
• Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)  -- Energy 
• Joint Organizations Data Initiative (JODI) -- freely accessible and comprehensive database of energy statistics
• Organizations of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
• Oil and Gas Industry: A Research Guide by the Library of Congress

Specialized Information:

• Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission -- Includes data regarding production, facilities, fields, wells, maps, GIS data, and full-text reports
• Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) contains names of oil fields. Search by "Feature Class."
• Interactive World LNG Dashboard by the Petroleum Economist.

Costs:

• Costs of Drilling for Natural Gas and Oil in the United States (1986 base) -- located in the Arthur Lakes Library's Book Stacks, call number TN880.2 .C67
• Energy Information Administration (EIA)
• Analysis & Projections by Energy Information Administration (EIA)