Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking For A Good Book To Read?
Take a break and browse the Mines Library’s Popular Reading Collection. It offers the latest print bestsellers and hot titles in fiction and non-fiction. The collection is located in the lobby of the main entrance, conveniently next to the Book & Brew Coffee Shop.
Popular Digital Magazines
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)
Focuses on the practical aspects and the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.
News (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature)
An online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with links to thousands of full-text reviews.
Popular Print Journals - In The Browsing Room
Other Places for Good Books
If our library does not have what you're looking for you'll likely be able to find it in one of our regional public libraries systems.
Prospector Prospector is a unified catalog of academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you have access to 30 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials held in these libraries. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
Genres & Formats in the Book Stacks
Biography books are integrated throughout the collection according to subject. A number of biographies are available as ebooks. The best way to locate a biography is to search the catalog for the name of the person and "biography."
Biography (Gale In Context) Search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Poetry is not housed in one central location; however, there are some groupings that you may want to explore:
- Collections of General Poetry: PN 6099-6110
- English Poetry: PR 500-614
- Collections of English Poetry: PR 1170-1228
- American Poetry: PS 301-326
- Collections of American Poetry: PS 580-619
LitFinder LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Have a Title Suggestion or a Comment?
Have a book you would like to see in the Popular Reading Collection? Or, do you have a comment about the collection? If so, tell us about it!