Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books provide overviews, in-depth descriptions, and summaries on their topic. Scholarly books are peer reviewed and contain authoritative information. They can include original research or scholarship, historical data, and experts' views on themes/topics. Scholarly books should also contain references to existing publications--just like scholarly articles.
Use scholarly books when you require depth and detail, background information and related research on a topic, or to put your topic in context with other important issues. Scholarly books often take longer to publish than journal articles, so the information in books may not be "cutting edge."
(Astronaut taking samples, Moon, NASA, https://appel.nasa.gov/2008/09/01/teaching-geology-to-apollo-astronauts/)
Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books. For every book, links are provided to bookstores where you can buy the book and libraries where you can borrow it.
Books on Planetary Geology Include...
Planetary Cartography and GIS by
Publication Date: 2019-02-23
This book approaches geological, geomorphological and topographical mapping from the point in the workflow at which science-ready datasets are available. Though there have been many individual projects on dynamic maps and online GISs, in which coding and data processing are given precedence over cartographic principles, cartography is more than "just" processing and displaying spatial data. However, there are currently no textbooks on this rapidly changing field, and methods tend to be shared informally. Addressing this gap in the literature, the respective chapters outline many topics pertaining to cartography and mapping such as the role and definition of planetary cartography and (vs?) Geographic Information Science; theoretical background and practical methodologies in geological mapping; science-ready versus public-ready products; a goal/procedure-focused practical manual of the most commonly used software in planetary mapping...dynamic maps on the web; planetary GIS interfaces; crowdsourcing; crater counting techniques; irregular bodies; geological unit symbology; mapping center activities; and web services. All chapters were prepared by authors who have actually produced geological maps or GISs for NASA / the USGS, DLR, ESA or MIIGAIK. Taken together, they offer an excellent resource for all planetary scientists whose research depends on mapping, and for students of astrogeology.
Planetary Geology by
Publication Date: 2017-12-14
This book provides an up-to-date interdisciplinary geoscience-focused overview of solid solar system bodies and their evolution, based on the comparative description of processes acting on them. Planetary research today is a strongly multidisciplinary endeavor with efforts coming from engineering and natural sciences. Key focal areas of study are the solid surfaces found in our Solar System. Some have a direct interaction with the interplanetary medium and others have dynamic atmospheres. In any of those cases, the geological records of those surfaces (and sub-surfaces) are key to understanding the Solar System as a whole: its evolution and the planetary perspective of our own planet. This book has a modular structure and is divided into 4 sections comprising 15 chapters in total. Each section builds upon the previous one but is also self-standing. The sections are: Methods and tools Processes and Sources Integration and Geological Syntheses Frontiers The latter covers the far-reaching broad topics of exobiology, early life, extreme environments and planetary resources, all areas where major advancements are expected in the forthcoming decades and both key to human exploration of the Solar System. The target readership includes advanced undergraduate students in geoscience-related topics with no specific planetary science knowled≥ undergraduates in other natural science domains (e.g. physics, astronomy, biology or chemistry); graduates in engineering and space systems design who want to complement their knowledge in planetary science. The authors' backgrounds span a broad range of topics and disciplines: rooted in Earth geoscience, their expertise covers remote sensing and cartography, field mapping, impact cratering, volcanology and tectonics, sedimentology and stratigraphy exobiology and life in extreme environments, planetary resources and mining. Several generations of planetary scientists are cooperating to provide a modern view on a discipline developed from Earth during and through Space exploration.
From Cave Man to Cave Martian by
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
This book explores the practicality of using the existing subsurface geology on the Moon and Mars for protection against radiation, thermal extremes, micrometeorites and dust storms rather than building surface habitats at great expense at least for those first few missions. It encourages NASA to plan a precursor mission using this concept and employ a "Short Stay" Opposition Class mission to Mars as the first mission rather than the "Long Stay" concept requiring a mission that is too long, too dangerous and too costly for man's first missions to Mars. Included in these pages is a short history on the uses of caves by early humans over great periods of time. It then describes the ongoing efforts to research caves, pits, tunnels, lava tubes, skylights and the associated technologies that pertain to potential lunar and Mars exploration and habitation. It describes evidence for existing caves and lava tubes on both the Moon and Mars. The work of noted scientists, technologists and roboticists are referenced and described. This ongoing work is more extensive than one would think and is directly applicable to longer term habitation and exploration of the Moon and Mars. Emphasis is also given to the operational aspects of working and living in lunar and Martian caves and lava tubes.
Mercury's Interior, Surface, and Surrounding Environment by
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
This SpringerBrief details the MESSENGER Mission, the findings of which present challenges to widely held conventional views and remaining mysteries surrounding the planet. The work answers the question of why Mercury is so dense, and the implications from geochemical data on its planetary formation. It summarizes imaging and compositional data from the terrestrial planet surface processes and explains the geologic history of Mercury. It also discusses the lack of southern hemisphere coverage. Our understanding of the planet Mercury has been in a transitional phase over the decades since Mariner 10. The influx of new data from the NASA MESSENGER Mission since it was inserted into the orbit of Mercury in March of 2011 has greatly accelerated that shift. The combined compositional data of relatively high volatiles (S, K), relatively low refractories (Al, Ca), and low crustal iron, combined with an active, partially molten iron rich core, has major implications for Mercury and Solar System formation. From a scientist at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, this presents a comprehensive overview of the discoveries from the ten-year MESSENGER mission.
Sedimentary Geology of Mars by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Popular Book Series
Look up books in these series by their individual titles:
Requesting Books Through ILL
If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection, we can get it for you!
Just request it though Interlibrary Loan.
Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.
Lunar surface, South Pole Basin, NASA/Goddard Space Center.