Why Books?
Scholarly books contain authoritative information and this can include comprehensive accounts of research or scholarship, historical data, overviews, experts' views on themes/topics. Use a book when you require background information and related research on a topic, when you want to add depth to a research topic or put your topic in context with other important issues.
Related Guide: Find Books
Core Electronic Resources
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more ebooks. - ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It provides access to full-text papers from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards. - Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process, and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines. Provides interactive content including equations, graphs, and tables. It has technical reference resources from ebooks and standards as well as publishers including AIChE/CCPS, NACE, and more. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library features content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), containing current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science with select content back to 1872. Select access to standards. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is Springer's comprehensive online delivery platform, providing easy access to millions of resources, including ebooks, journal articles, reference works, and protocols.
Related and Multi-Disciplinary Resources
- Science Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. - Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all of our subscribed to Gale OneFile, In Context, Literature, and eBooks databases at the same time.
Featured Print Book Titles
Engineering Practice in a Global Context by Call Number: TA157 .E6226 2014ISBN: 9780415636964Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Engineers : a history of engineering and structural design by Call Number: TA15 .W45 2010ISBN: 9780415325257Publication Date: 2010-04-13
Integrating Information into the Engineering Design Process by Call Number: T10.7 .I58 2014ISBN: 9781557536495Publication Date: 2013-12-15
Mathematical Methods in Engineering by Call Number: TA330 M38 2007ISBN: 9048174244Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Using the Engineering Literature by Call Number: T10.7 .U85 2012
Search Books
Note: To Identify Yourself as Colorado School of Mines User:
- go to Settings at the the top of the Google Scholar search screen
- select Library links
- Search for "Colorado School of Mines" and click Save.
Browse Engineering Subject Headings
TA1-2040 Engineering (General)
TA165 Engineering instruments, meters, etc. Industrial instrumentation
TA170-171 Environmental engineering
TA177.4-185 Engineering economy
TA190-194 Management of engineering works
TA197-198 Engineering meteorology
TA213-215 Engineering machinery, tools, and implements
TA329-348 Engineering mathematics. Engineering analysis
TA349-359 Mechanics of engineering. Applied mechanics
TA365-367 Acoustics in engineering. Acoustical engineering
TA401-492 Materials of engineering and construction. Mechanics of materials
TA495 Disasters and engineering
TA630-695 Structural engineering (General)
TA703-712 Engineering geology. Rock mechanics. Soil mechanics. Underground construction
TA715-787 Earthwork. Foundations
TA1001-1280 Transportation engineering
Requesting Books Through ILL
If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection, we can get it for you!
Just request it though Interlibrary Loan.
Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.