Databases Collections
Beyond your literature review, you will need to use sources from other databases and the web to discuss your case studies, explore hypotheses, and detail your dependent and independent variables. Start in these websites, databases, and collections, then use domain limiting in Google to find additional sources.
- Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing of all government publications with full text for Congressional Hearings 1824 to present. Plus bill tracking and legislative histories, member profiles, research, and CIS index. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Access includes Company Database. - Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides economic accounts for national, industry, international, and regional data. These accounts are critical for monetary, fiscal, and public policy and business investment decisions. - Census.gov This link opens in a new window
Serves as a leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Data included is the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey, and Economic Indicators. - IMF Data This link opens in a new window
IMF eLibrary Data Includes domestic and international financial data from the International Financial Statistics as well as Government Finance Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments, African Regional Economic Outlook, and more. - SSRN This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a repository for preprints devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research in the social sciences, humanities, life sciences, and health sciences, among others. - UNdata This link opens in a new window
Search a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labor market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport, and trade. - World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank provides open access to sets of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia, and others, broadening understanding of global issues.
Finding Good Web Resources
Use these good search habits to find high quality, authoritative sources on the internet:
1) Limit your Google Search by domain -- add site:. before a domain, such as .gov or .edu.
2) Use Google Scholar, instead of the regular Google search box to find for scholarly articles
3) Let the Google Scholar citation help you find related articles, create a citation or get the full text from the library
