Citation Style Overview
Typically, citation includes both of (1) an in-text citation and (2) a reference list at the end to provide full bibliographical information.
A bibliographic record typically includes:
- Author(s)
- Year of publication
- Title of work (article, book chapter, paper)
- Source (journal, book title, conference proceedings, patent number)
- Format information if relevant--Web address, e-mail, personal communication, etc.--and date accessed by you
- Page numbers used
Each discipline or a specific journal has one or more citation styles to format the in-text citation and reference list. See below for typical citation styles in various disciplines. Check with your professor or publication editor if they have a preferred style guide.
HOT TIP: When you're citing articles in a database (like ScienceDirect, ProQuest, or others), the 'source' is usually not the name of that database. Instead, the source would be the journal that published the article. For example, if I were citing the article pictured below, I would cite the Aerospace Science and Technology journal as the source, not the ScienceDirect database.
Citation Styles in Various Disciplines
Biology
Council of Science Editors (CSE) Style
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers by Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Chemistry
American Chemical Society (ACS) Style
The ACS Style Guide : effective communication of scientific information. by Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006ISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Geology
Suggestions to Authors (STA) style by United States Geological Survey (USGS)
Geology Society of America (GSA) style
- Suggestions to Authors of the Reports of the United States Geological SurveySee pages 234 - 241 for Preparing references for survey reports
Liberal Arts
Modern Language Association (MLA) Style
Chicago Manual of Style
American Psychology Association (APA) Style
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2007ISBN: 9780226823362Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Mathematics
American Mathematics Society (AMS) Style
- AMS Author HandbookChoose appropriate publication type and check the Bibliographic references section.
Physics
American Institute of Physics (AIP) style
Citation Styles in Various Disciplines
Computer Science
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society recommends Chicago Manual of Style
- How to Cite References: IEEE Documentation StyleIEEE citation style is used primarily for electronics, engineering, telecommunications,
computer science, and information technology reports. - Reference Preparation Assistant by IEEEUpload your reference draft file to validate your references against both the IEEE Xplore® and CrossRef databases to ensure successful online linking.
Economics
Chicago Manual of Style. See recommendations for Liberal Arts.
Engineering
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) recommend Chicago Manual of Style
- How to Cite References: IEEE Documentation StyleIEEE citation style is used primarily for electronics, engineering, telecommunications,
computer science, and information technology reports. - Reference Preparation Assistant by IEEEUpload your reference draft file to validate your references against both the IEEE Xplore® and CrossRef databases to ensure successful online linking.
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by Call Number: T11 .B396 2005
Government Information
- The Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources byCall Number: Z7164.G7 G37 2002ISBN: 088692586X
- U.S. Government Printing Office Style ManualStandard language and use for government publications from U.S. Government Publishing Office.
Metallurgy and Materials Science
See recommended styles for Chemistry or Engineering
Mining
See recommended styles for Engineering
Petroleum
American Association of Petroleum Geologist (AAPG) style
Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) style
- AAPG Bulletin Submission Guidelines - Manuscript PreparationSee Reference Style section
- Society of Petroleum Engineers Style GuideSee section 8.8
Overview of Scientific Style Guide
The Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers by ISBN: 0123739802Publication Date: 2009-03-25Online Book
