Teaching & Learning Librarian
Conducting a Literature Review
Conducting a literature Review for the first time can be confusing. These tutorials will provide you with tips and examples.
Source: Literature Review, video tutorial, by Emily Bongiovanni and Brianna Buljung
Source: Conducting a Literature Review, LibWizard tutorial, by Brianna Buljung
Scholarly Sources
Get started with your research for your paper in these broad, multi-disciplinary resources.
- Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation. - Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more. - Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Africa Confidential
Africa Confidential is one of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a considerable reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent. (ISSN: 0044-6483)
Additional Sources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing of all government publications with full text for Congressional Hearings 1824 to present. Plus bill tracking and legislative histories, member profiles, research, and CIS index. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - IMF Data This link opens in a new window
IMF eLibrary Data Includes domestic and international financial data from the International Financial Statistics as well as Government Finance Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments, African Regional Economic Outlook, and more. - UNCTADstat This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development provides statistical series that are regularly updated and classified into easy-to-navigate themes. UNCTADstat offers ready-to-use analytical groupings, with a unique coverage for countries and products and a particular focus on developing and transitioning economies. This approach ensures data consistency across multiple data series and enables users to harness its full potential by mixing and matching data from various domains. - Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides economic accounts for national, industry, international, and regional data. These accounts are critical for monetary, fiscal, and public policy and business investment decisions. - World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank provides open access to sets of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia, and others, broadening understanding of global issues.
Finding Good Web Resources
Use these good search habits to find high quality, authoritative sources on the internet:
1) Limit your Google Search by domain -- add site:. before a domain, such as .gov or .edu.
2) Use Google Scholar, instead of the regular Google search box to find for scholarly articles
3) Let the Google Scholar citation help you find related articles, create a citation or get the full text from the library
LINKS TO PRIMARY SOURCES
These websites contain great information for your project