Article Databases
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
World History provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History. The publisher merged reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Finding Good Web Resources
Use these good search habits to find high quality, authoritative sources on the internet:
1) Limit your Google Search by domain -- add site:. before a domain, such as .gov or .edu.
2) For websites from within Nepal - limit your search to their domain by adding site:.np to the end of your search
Don't forget to use .edu for educational sources, .org for organizations and non-profits, and .gov for government.
Find the domains of other countries in the region to get additional sources such as .cn for China and .in for India.
3) Use Google Scholar, instead of the regular Google search box to find for scholarly articles
4) Let the Google Scholar citation help you find related articles, create a citation or get the full text from the library
Websites about Nepal
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank provides open access to sets of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allows policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia, and others, broadening understanding of global issues. - CIA Library This link opens in a new window
The CIA releases millions of pages of documents each year and frequently releases items of public interest on this website. The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports, and maps. - UNdata This link opens in a new window
Search a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labor market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport, and trade.
