Skip to main content
Arthur Lakes Library logo

Streaming Video Collections: JoVE

A tutorial on how to use streaming video collections. Information on linking, clips, playlists, and accessibility.

About JoVE

JoVE Logo

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.  Reduces lab training time for students by up to 75%

Sections included: Biology, Bioengineering, Science Education: Basic Biology (General Laboratory Techniques & Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology), Science Education: Chemistry (General Chemistry & Analytical Chemistry)

Section Linking

You can create links to specific sections or to individual articles. Below is a list of sections and their respective links:

Jove Video Journal Logo

Bioengineering: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/journal/bioengineering

JoVE Bioengineering includes methods and tools that apply engineering to life science research for the study of biological processes and development of new therapies and diagnostics.

Biology: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/journal/biology

JoVE Biology includes techniques and experimental approaches in teh fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology.

Jove Science Education Logo

Basic Biology: General Laboratory Techniques: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/science-education-library/1/general-laboratory-techniques

This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.

Basic Biology: Basic Methods In Cellular and Molecular Biology: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/science-education-library/2/basic-methods-in-cellular-and-molecular-biology

This collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.

Chemistry: General Chemistry: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/science-education-library/16/general-chemistry

This collection helps provide a solid foundation in general chemistry by showcasing basic lab techniques, demonstrating commonly used equipment, and exploring the theory behind fundamental methodology in Chemistry.

Chemistry: Analytical Chemistry: https://www-jove-com.mines.idm.oclc.org/science-education-library/18/analytical-chemistry

This collection takes a broad look at quantitative analysis and instrumentation including electrochemistry, spectroscopy, chromatography, and mass spectrometry.

Embed a Science Education Video

  • Click the embed button in the lower right below the video
  • Grab the embed code and import that into your page

Accessiblity

Closed captioning and transcripts are available for journals as well as the Science Education collections.

Science Education collections are available in 10 different languages.

Send Your Syllabus

Send in your syllabi and they will make content suggestions.

Since JoVE understands that faculty members don’t necessarily have the time to go through and choose the most appropriate videos for their courses, they offer a matching service entirely free of charge.

Article Linking

Each video (article) in JoVe has a persistent URL. No modification is necessary to use these links in Canvas.
 
To link to a video from JoVe

  • Identify a video in JoVe
  • Launch the video
  • An authenticated persistent link to the video displays in the URL address bar on your browser
    • Alternatively, there is a persistent URL in the sidebar labeled:  "Share this Article"
  • Copy and Paste the appropriate URL into Canvas, syllabi, documents, or web pages

Off Campus? Access Is Easy!

Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines Multipass when prompted.

Help

The JoVE video player is compatible with HTML5 and Adobe Flash. Older browsers that do not support HTML5 and the H.264 video codec will still use a Flash-based video player. We recommend downloading the newest version of Flash here, but it supports all versions 10 and above.