Why Books?
Scholarly books contain authoritative information and this can include comprehensive accounts of research or scholarship, historical data, overviews, experts' views on themes/topics.
Use a book when you require background information and related research on a topic, when you want to add depth to a research topic or put your topic in context with other important issues
Get started searching for books using the Library's catalog
E-books
You can find eBooks in our Library Catalog, or by searching these collections.
Consider the keywords for your paper and use them in different combinations to find good eBooks for your project.
-
Gale eBooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. -
History Reference Center
History Reference Center is a good history reference database designed for undergraduate research. The database provides over 500,000 full-text records from scholarly journals, reference books, periodicals and other sources. It has over 73,000 full-text primary source documents, over 81,000 full-text biographies of historical figures, almost 2,000 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and full-text content from over 140 history journals. -
HathiTrust Digital Library (Global Public Domain only)
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them for future generations. You can search and access fully viewable materials in HathiTrust and download materials where there are no third-party restrictions. 6,482,757 volumes (~38% of total) are in the public domain.
Books to get you started
Here are a few books that can get you thinking about the themes, imagery, and concepts in Shakespearean drama
-
The Genius of Shakespeare by Call Number: PR2937 .B38 1998 -
The Age of Shakespeare by Call Number: PR3095 .K466 2004 -
Shakespeare: A Life in Drama by Call Number: PR2894 .W438 1995 -
The Science of Shakespeare: a New Look at he Playwright's Universe by Call Number: Course Reserves -
Shakespeare and the Dawn of Modern Science by Call Number: PR3047 .U84 2010 -
The Machine in the Text: science and literature in the age of Shakespeare and Galileo by Call Number: PR408.S34 M37 2011
Requesting Books Through ILL
If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection, we can get it for you!
Just request it though Interlibrary Loan.
Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines Multipass when prompted.