It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HASS 433 -- Shakespeare and the Scientific Revolution: Find Articles
This guide provides resources and search tips for students taking Dr. Pass's course on Shakespeare and the Scientific Revolution
The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a "peer-review" process. In other words, the articles are checked by academics and other experts. The information is therefore reliable. As well as containing scholarly information, journal articles can include reports and/or reviews of current research and topic-specific information.
Use scholarly journals when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research. Scholarly journals take less time to publish than books, but the peer-review process can be lengthy.
Popular articles found in magazines are often written by journalist or professional writers for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations for sources. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background on a topic that is new to you or very current information
Understanding Shakespeare is a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them—line by line. Users simply click next to any line of text in a play and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Gale Primary Sources allows users to search across all of our Gale primary source collections.
Includes the following databases: American Historical Periodicals; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples: North America; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World; The Times Digital Archive; and the Women's Studies Archive.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History in Context provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The publisher merged reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
What kind of information do you need? If you are writing for a class assignment, you may be required to use peer-reviewed ("refereed") or scholarly sources. In any case, you should always look for sources that are authoritative. For more detailed help with evaluating your sources, see our Evaluating Information Guide.
Scholarly Checklist--Look for:
Authors listed, with credentials
Cited references and data, observations, or statistics to support conclusions
Reviewed by peers or experts in the subject
Purpose is to inform or impart knowledge, not to sell, persuade, entertain
Appears impartial--few or no advertisements, no emotional language, unbiased
Authoritative--A source can have authority even if it isn't scholarly.
Author and/or publisher is an expert on the subject
Author's affiliations and contact information are available
Other Criteria-- these are not definitive, but worthy of consideration:
Do you see errors in spelling, grammar, data?
Is the publication in turn cited by other credible works published later?
How current is the information (no date? be suspicious)?