Instruction & Research Librarian
In This Guide
You will complete a variety of assignments in this course. This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond.
This Guide Contains:
- Find Articles - Search for articles online and in print
- Find Books - Find books, handbooks, manuals and more
- Find Web Sites - Find professional organizations and other quality web resources
- Evaluating Sources - Learn how to evaluate books, articles and web sources
- Citing Sources - Information on citation formats, citation tools and more.
Related Guides:
Image Credit: Attack of the Body People by Justin Hall Used under CC BY-SA 2.0.
Core Electronic Resources
These sources can help you get started on your research:
-
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. -
Biological Science Database
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience.
Coverage: 1946-current -
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides over 14 million publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 ebooks from Elsevier, its imprints, and society partners. -
Knovel
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines. Provides interactive content including equations, graphs and tables. It has technical reference resources from over 4,000 ebooks and over 150 publishers including AIChE/CCPS, NACE and more. It links to over 65 million data points including material and chemical property data.
