Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections: Ropeway Center: R001 Charles F. Dwyer Collection

Charles F. Dwyer Collection

Charles Dwyer stands by a tramway bucketThe Collection (1939-1996) focuses on the working papers of Charles F. Dwyer. It includes documents, correspondence, reports and records of field work, but also photographs and notes. (Dwyer also donated many of the publications that were the foundation of the Ropeway Center in its inception; these can be found in the Library catalog.) Dwyer was a leading figure in the development of the ropeway industry in Colorado ski areas. The Collection also includes scattered materials on other ski areas in the US and internationally.

Noted in the Collection:

  • Documents on new ropeway installations in ski areas in Colorado
  • Photographs of ski lift operations
  • Newspaper clippings and other materials related to ropeway accidents
  • Historical tramway and equipment data sheets

 

 

Charles Dwyer, Encampment Museum, Wyoming, 1977. Charles F. Dwyer Collection R001, Photograph R-2324.

 

Geographic Areas

Arapahoe Basin

Aspen

Beaver Creek Resort

Bennet (Loveland Ski Basin)

Berthoud Pass Winter Sports Area

Breckenridge Ski Area

Crested Butte Winter Sports Area; Carlevaro-Savio gondola

Eldora (Lake Eldora)

Emerald Mountain (Steamboat Springs)

Estes Park Tramway

Geneva Basin

Georgetown, Silver Plume Historic District

Gunnison, Pioneer Ski Area, Cement Creek

Keystone

Little Annie Ski Corporation (addition to Aspen Mountain)

Loveland Valley and Basin

Royal Gorge

Sunshine Peak aerial tramway

Vail Ski Area

Winter Park

Alaska -- Eaglecrest Ski Area

California -- Squaw Valley; Palm Springs areal tramway; Mt Shasta lifts; Yosemite

Idaho -- Lookout Pass Ski Area, Wallace

Michigan

Minnesota

New Hampshire

Oregon -- Mt. Hood (Timberline ski lft). Includes Mt. Hood's flying bus

Virginia -- Includes Fort Eustis aerial tramway

Utah -- Snowbird

Vermont

Wisconsin

Wyoming -- Jackson Hole aerial tramway; Grand Encampment materials tramway; Teton Village

Austria -- Seefeld Tyrol

Canada, British Columbia -- Hell's Gate tram; Whistler Mountain

France -- Arguille du Midi

Switzerland -- Braunwald; Mont Pelerin funicular

Contents

Box 1 -- Miscellaneous organization materials; newspaper clippings and notes. Includes:

  • Miscellaneous memos, notes and correspondence on meetings of the North American Aerial Tramways Officials (NAATO) and OITAF-NACS (1984-1991)
  • Newspaper clippings and miscellaneous documents covering ropeway accidents, including YAN Keystone chair; Vail gondola.
  • Miscellaneous newspaper clippings and documents on the history of skiing

Box 2 -- Ski areas, Colorado (1941-2005), miscellaneous documents, reports, newspaper clippings and promotional materials, organized by ski area.

Box 3 -- Ski areas, Colorado (cont.); and papers related to operations (1951-2005) of:

  • OITAF-NACS Committee on Aerial Tramway Authorities
  • Association of Recreational Tramway Authorities (ARTA) (1951-2005).

Box 4 -- Correspondence, notes and documents related to operations (1972-1992) of:

  • International Aerobus Association (IAA)
  • Society of Aerial Tramway Engineers (SATE)
  • Internationale Tagung der Technischen Seilbahnaufsichtsbehorden (ITTAB)

Box 5 -- Correspondence, notes and documents related to operations of the Internationale Tagung der Technischen Seilbahnaufsichtsbehorden (ITTAB) (1990-1994)

Box 6 -- Newspaper clippings, histories, notes and other materials on ski lift installations (various) in Colorado (1902, 1947-1990).

Box 7 -- Technical information, specifications on historical lift installations; with scattered brochures, miscellaneous materials:

  • Tramway Data Sheets, Colorado
  • Equipment Data Sheets, Colorado
  • Aerial Tramway Data Sheets, US
  • Miscellaneous materials, US

Box 8 -- Technical information, specifications on historical lift installations in the US; miscellaneous and historical materials on US and international ropeway sites; and accident files; with some photocopies (1938-1996):

  • Data Sheets on Region 9, US Forest Service (New Hampshire, Vermont, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin
  • Miscellaneous materials, international sites (Austria, British Columbia, France, Switzerland)
  • Historical files related to sites in Colorado, California and Oregon
  • Accident files on incidents in Alaska, California, and Colorado

Box 9 -- Accident-related materials: Newspaper clippings, photographs, reports and notes on accidents in Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, and Wyoming. Includes materials related to the Vail Aerian Tramway & Ski Safety Seminars (1981-1986).

Related Resources

Research Librarian; Special Collections Manager