Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ropeway Center, Collections: Home

General Information

A Collection Guide (see the Ropeway Center's Tabs above) provides information about the contents and context of a collection. This may include descriptions, lists of materials and images, and how to discover specific items. Collection Guides can help you identify items of interest and make it easier for you to request access to materials.

List of Collections, Ropeway Center

bucket; and men on an aerial tramwayR001  Charles F. Dwyer Collection -- Publications, unpublished works, photographs, brochures and personal paper of Charles Dwyer and his career in the ropeway industries, (1939-1996).

R002  Casper Meals Library -- Publications, catalogs, standards, and industry papers bound together in volumes comprise the working library of Casper Meals in his career as a ropeway engineer.

R003  Vernon Kelsey Collection -- Papers and computer programs related to Kelsey's work as an engineer on cable systems and his work at U. S. Steel's rope plants.

R004  Robert Heron Collection -- Drawings, documents and working papers associated with Heron's projects including work at the Heron-Poma Company.

R005  Al Lucht Collection -- Materials related to Lucht's association with U. S. Steel Corporation, including research documents, correspondence, presentation materials, photographs, and personal papers.

R006  Associated Wire Rope Fabricators (AWRF) Collection -- Artifacts, promotional items, and memorabilia related to wire rope.

R008  Roosevelt Island Tramway Collection -- Diagrams and manuals related to the old Roosevelt Island Tram (replaced in 2010), which spans the East River to operate between Manhattan and Roosevelt Island, New York.

R010  Ropeways Miscellaneous: Innsbruker Postcard Collection -- Postcards from the Innsbruker Nordkettenbahnen Seilbahnmuseum (Cable Railways Museum), Austria, depicting ropeways 1926-2003.

R011  Ropeway Glass Plates Collection -- Photographic glass plates depicting historical ropeways used for transporting people and materials, with applications in mining, construction, tourism, and military settings.

 

Research Librarian; Special Collections Manager

Ask a Librarian

Ask A Librarianh