General Patent Search Resources
- Patent Public Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The database includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents, and Statutory Invention Registration (SIR) documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent ones issued this week.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet PatentSearch)
European, US, PCT, Japanese and other worldwide patents.
- Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Covers patents and applications from USPTO, EPO, WIPO, DPMA, CIPO and SIPO. Updating frequency is not clear.
- Canadian Intellectual Property Office - Canadian Patent SearchA Canadian Patent database with data from 1989 to the present, and includes the patent number, classification, and title of patents.
- Japan Platform for Patent Information
A searchable database of Japanese patent abstracts, which includes the patent number, title, inventor, company, and abstract of the patent. - Patent LensA user-friendly interface for searching patents from European, U.S., WIPO, and Australia.
- People's Republic of China: National Intellectual Property Office (CNIPA)
Search for Chines patent. Covers patents from China. Has machines translation system integrated.
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Patent Search Resources
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email.
Guides on Patent Search
- Patents and Designs - Guides from Queen's University LibraryHelpful guides on how to search and read a patent as well as overview of classification schemes.
- Guides on patents and patent search - UCLA LibraryA good collection of patent resources, including statistics about patent and social and business issues around patents.