Why Reference?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Learning the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).
Electronic Reference Resources
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more ebooks. - ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of 40+ ASM Handbook volumes, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions. - ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library provides access to full text journals, special technical publications, standards, manuals, data series, and terminology that covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. - Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process, and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines. Provides interactive content including equations, graphs, and tables. It has technical reference resources from ebooks and standards as well as publishers including AIChE/CCPS, NACE, and more. - Science Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Handbooks and Manuals
Handbooks are general information sources which provides quick reference for a given subject area. Handbooks are generally subject-specific.
The Control Handbook: Control System Fundamentals by Call Number: TJ213 .L419 2011
The Engineering Handbook by Call Number: TA151 .E424 2005
National Electrical Code 2008 by Call Number: TK260 .N46
The RF and Microwave Handbook by Call Number: TK7876 .R493 2001
Ugly's Electrical Safety and NFPA by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284103366Publication Date: 2015-06-30
The VLSI Handbook by Call Number: TK7874.75 .V573 2000
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information, providing an excellent way to begin research. Many provide bibliographies for further reading. Mostly located in the second-floor reference collection from approximately TA1-TA2040s, here's a sampling of some of the print resources available:
Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering by Call Number: TK9 .C575 2005
IEEE 100: The Authoritative Dictionary of IEEE Standards Terms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0738126012Publication Date: 2000
Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0471402249Publication Date: 2004
