Related Guides
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) -- If we don't have it
We can usually get your item from another library:
- Can't Find It? gives you options
- ILL Request Form at Interlibrary Loan
Please note: Without a teleportation device, it may take a week or longer to get a physical item.
Get Started
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and related fields. Questions? See Get Help, or contact our librarian directly.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties accessing our resources, please see Off Campus Access for help.
Core Electronic Resources
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Selected Reference Books -- Chemistry
Find more titles in the library catalog by searching "chemistry" and "encyclopedia."
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyFind individual encyclopedia entries via the library catalog and in Wiley Online Library.
Drawing Tools - Chemical Structure
- ChemBioDraw
Available for Mines affiliates. - ACD ChemSketch
Free for academic use. - MarvinSketch - ChemAxon
Free for non-commercial use.
Chemistry Video Highlights
- RSC / Learn Chemistry / Online ResourcesClass support; tutorial and fun videos for learning chemistry.
- Beautiful Micro photography videos revealing Chemistry
Check out http://www.beautifulchemistry.net/ for more micro photographic videos. This project is initiated by a collaboration between University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) and Tsinghua University Press (TUP).
Need to know more about chemical information world?
Chemical Information for Chemists: A Primer by Call Number: QD8.5 .C44 2014ISBN: 9781849735513Publication Date: 2013-10-22A book for chemists in retrieving and evaluating information using the unique entry points of the chemical literature, including structure, formula, substructure, and sequence.
- Chemical Information Sources
A Wikibook about chemical information in general edited by experienced chemistry librarians and chemical information specialists. - Information Competencies for Chemistry UndergraduatesA guideline for information competencies by the Special Library Association, Chemistry Division (SLA-DCHE) and American Chemical Society, Chemical Information Division (ACS-CINF)
- 2022 GUIDE TO THE BUSINESS OF CHEMISTRY - American Chemical Council
The full Guide to the Business of Chemistry, ACC's most comprehensive profile of the U.S. chemical industry, covering everything from production and trade to transportation and environmental performance.
